top of page
Search

If I Only Knew Back THEN What I Know NOW

Recently was watching a sermon by an amazing woman of God, theologist, poet, and musician name Jackie Hill Perry and she said, "Idols can't make nobody whole because idols didn't make nobody". When I tell you I literally had to pause this sermon, snap, scream a hallelujah and amen to that, and just sit with that. Idols are any and everything we look upon with esteem consciously or unconsciously that is not God the Father, Christ the Son and the Holy Spirit.


Throughout my young adult life, I have realized that what I did as a child to deal with life, turned into to very large and harmful addictions and habits, creating such a damaged mindset. Due some choices out of my control, I didn't learn healthy coping mechanisms. I was taught to ignore my problems and find ways to "self-medicate". Unfortunately, that turned into overeating, self-pleasure, and a really nasty attitude that still bites me in the behind. For years, this short list of things brought me to one of the most unhealthiest places in my life, mentally and emotionally.


When Christ entered my life, slowly but surely these same things that I would run too in an instant, I began to question. When Jackie Hill Perry says, "Idols can't make nobody whole because idols didn't make nobody", she's pointing out that the things we praise, that aren't the creator will never make us whole because they do not have power nor authority. God is the creator so that means he knows the beginning to the end and the end to the beginning. He is my creator, so what I thought would make me whole couldn't, truthfully it stripped me of hope, peace and a sense of worth.


I was able to grow and become whole not because I had the answers, but that I found the answers in Christ. 2 Corinthians 5:17, "Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new". What I knew before no longer was suitable for this new life that I have in Christ. Idols will never make us whole, they will only strip us of peace, of joy, of love and anything that would bring life to us. Be encouraged, that saying that old habits die hard is true but if you believe that Christ died for you and rose again so that you could be saved, trust that He has made you knew and in Him you are whole.






4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page