top of page
Search

Response

"Finally brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is an virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy–meditate on these things." (Philippians 4:8, NKJV)


Responding to life looks different for everyone and in my case, I have a tendency to be self destructive and I'll isolate myself until I feel ready. But truthfully, when will I ever be ready? Over the past couple of years, I have had to really ask myself, what does it look like to heal and what does it mean to be vulnerable and open with myself.


At the ending of February, I was doing so many amazing things not only academically but spiritually and emotionally. But then, I lost a friend and it truly messed me up. I was confused on what was even happening and never got the answer to why it even happened. I felt such a heavy weight and it was unfortunate to experience. However, though this was troubling, there seemed to be one thing after the other and I began to become very anxious. One night, I prayed and I truly asked God to have His way. As a Christian, Jesus tells us that there will be weapons that form in this world, but they would not prosper. If we're not careful where we allow our focus to be, the outlook on which we view life will be through those lenses, whether it's a broken friendship, a break-up, financial lack or whatever may take up space in your mind. Moreover, that night I woke up from a dream at 5:00AM on the dot and I heard God say, write down everything you are thankful for and so I grabbed my journal and I began to write. Maybe an hour later and a couple of pages down, I had written almost 6 pages front and back on how I was thankful. That day was one of the best days I would have in such a long time.


Nothing particularly special happened that day, but I was alive. Obeying God and writing down all the things, people, situation and circumstances I was thankful for changed my entire position. I responded to my day, a day that was seeming ordinary with praise. I was thankful for my very existence and for the fact that I had the choice to change my perspective and see how much was for me and not against me, how God has continually kept me throughout life even when I didn't even know His name. Yet, He knew mine and has show up and has shown out for me so I will continue to praise Him, that is my response! Psalms 91:9-10 "If you make the Lord your refuge, if you make the Most High your shelter, no evil will conquer you; no plague will come near your home" God is faithful and He loves us. He is concerned withe very part of our lives, but we must believe in Him. I encourage you to make a list of things you are grateful, even the things you believe are so small. Its the moments and circumstances that seem so small that are so big and so worthy of praise. How will you respond to life?




3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page