top of page
Search

Who am I?

Hi all,


My name is Amanda and I am from New York City! I am a 21 year old Social Work major at Skidmore College and I am a Christian. Writing about myself is not always my strong suit but with this space I want to lean into discomfort. Throughout my 21 years of life, there are many situations and circumstances that I have had to overcome, from parental neglect, to bullying, depression, severe paranoia and anxiety. In no way do I make this list as a way to victimize myself but to point out the grace of God. I knew nothing but pain and anger for the majority of my childhood into my early teenage years. But that all changed in my sophomore year of highs school when I had my first encounter with Jesus. I was no church goer and to be very honest, I did not know or even care much about going to church. My mother was a a self identified Christian for most her life but she never taught me about the faith. However, one night I decided that it was too late for my mother to travel to Brooklyn for a bible study alone, so I went with her. When I arrived to the church, I immediately sat off to the side, I remember trying not to be seen just to wait it out. Moreover, as I sat there in the midst of the worshiping and prayer, I started to feel so warm and was ultimately confused. I then rub my face and its wet and I start to say to myself, "What is happening?". I was crying, actually I was balling my eyes out! In that moment, I felt a sense of safety I never knew until that moment. From that point I chose to believe that Jesus was King, I chose to commit my imperfect life into the hand of a perfect King.

Who am I? Well, I am Amanda, a young women who was saved by GRACE through FAITH. God literally met me in the middle of my mess because if I did not make the decision to live for Him and not for me, I would not be here. I was suicidal and hopeless and felt like there was no purpose to life. Jesus gave me a purpose and a love I wouldn't trade for the world. If the last thing I do on this earth is spread the Good News of Jesus Christ, then so be it. This is who I am and I am proud of it. You can be saved and set free if you choose to believe.

Amanda



43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page